Pulaski Park
Home | Utica Bank Notes | Prestonville Cemetery | Nike Missle Base | Utica Community Schools History | Historic Library | Historic Posters | Map Archive | Shelby Road History | Wilcox-Warnes Nature Sanctuary | Lindbergh in Shelby | Hope Chapel | Packard Proving Grounds | Historic Photo Archive | Shelby Legend | Holland Ponds | Utica Cemetery | Prestonville Cemetery | Early Shelby Township | Shelby 1900-1929 | Shelby 1930-1959 | Shelby 1960-1989 | Shelby Historic Records | 1830 Shelby census | Shelby River Parks | The Beacon Tree | Lost Villages of Shelby | The Lost Village of Disco | Shelby Railroads | Shelby's Historic Train Display | Isaac Shelby | Andrews Schoolhouse | Early Utica | The 1904 Utica Fire | The Conner Family | The Joe Louis Farm | Clinton-Kalamazoo Canal | The Underground Railroad | Historic Marker Program | About Us | Getting Involved | Contact Us | The Shelby Community Foundation
Shelby Township Historical Committee

Pulaski Park was located on Auburn Road, north of Utica, next to Ramona Park. It had a pavilion dance hall about 70 feet in diameter, with a band stand at the end.

There was a long concession stand that sold pop, ice cream, candies, popcorn, and hot dogs, with a seperate building for beer. Jim Brede was paid $1.00 per day by Pete the manager to clean up the area. Picnic tables were placed throughout the grassy bottom land which made up the picnic area. There were no grills on the premises so the picnicers would use sticks and small branches to build a fire for cooking.

They cleaned out a hole in the Clinton River so the kids could go swimming. The water was very clear. Fishing was also a good pastime. There was a ball field for the kids and grown up kids alike.

(From Wally Doebler's Summer Along The Clinton-1996)