Shelby 1960-1989
Home | Utica Bank Notes | Prestonville Cemetery | Nike Missle Base | Utica Community Schools History | Historic Library | Historic Posters | Map Archive | Shelby Road History | Wilcox-Warnes Nature Sanctuary | Lindbergh in Shelby | Hope Chapel | Packard Proving Grounds | Historic Photo Archive | Shelby Legend | Holland Ponds | Utica Cemetery | Prestonville Cemetery | Early Shelby Township | Shelby 1900-1929 | Shelby 1930-1959 | Shelby 1960-1989 | Shelby Historic Records | 1830 Shelby census | Shelby River Parks | The Beacon Tree | Lost Villages of Shelby | The Lost Village of Disco | Shelby Railroads | Shelby's Historic Train Display | Isaac Shelby | Andrews Schoolhouse | Early Utica | The 1904 Utica Fire | The Conner Family | The Joe Louis Farm | Clinton-Kalamazoo Canal | The Underground Railroad | Historic Marker Program | About Us | Getting Involved | Contact Us | The Shelby Community Foundation
Shelby Township Historical Committee

In 1961, the Packard property was sold to the Ford Motor Co., which used the facilities to produce automotive trim parts and for parts storage until the 1990s.

Water and sewer service started to expand north into the township, particularly following pollution concerns in the Clinton River.

Voters in the township considered incorporating in late 1966 as the city of Shelbydale. There was also talk of merging Shelby Township and Utica in 1967. In 1972, new Shelby Township offices were constructed at 24 Mile and Van Dyke. To avoid confused motorists looking for the new hall and its proximity to Disco, the road signs leading into the historic little hamlet were taken down. Thus Disco finally lost its identity, although it continues to be identified on some road maps.

Fire swept through and destroyed Spring Hill Farm in January 1973 as firefighters stood helplessly by, unable to bring in enough water to put the fire out.The Shelby Township Fire Dept. added six medics and inaugurated EMS services for township residents.

A historic locomotive and caboose were purchased by the township in 1977 and placed next to the newly restored Andrews Schoolhouse on the township municipal grounds.
In 1978, the township became the Charter Township of Shelby. By the 1980s, the spread of residential construction began running into problems with Shelby Townships past. The township farms-mushroom farms in particular-began disappearing when the incompatibility of farms and their earthy smells and residential neighborhoods began creating conflict. Some ugly problems from the past also came up to haunt township residents.

For many years, when the area was considered to be "the country" Shelby Township was home to several landfills and chemical disposal facilities. Some of the waste was burned while other quantities were dumped into the ground. LDI, a liquid waste disposal facility, caught fire in 1982 when chemicals waiting for disposal caught fire. " I believe it spontaneously combusted," said George Morehouse Jr., the townships current fire chief. He remembered the fire well, especially since he was burned helping put the fire out.

In 1983, the U.S. Enviromental Protection Agency named the former G&H Landfill site as an enviromental superfund site because of, among other contamination, the prescence of polychlorinated biphenyls, or PCBs.

Shelby Township also got a little smaller in the late 80s. After a bitter court battle, Utica successfully annexed 347 acres of prime real estate from southern Shelby Township in 1987.

In the late80s, the township political scene, never friendly to begin with, turned ugly with the evolution of the "musical chairs" board, where a group of board members resigned, then appointed their spouses as replacements.