It was in the spring of 1924 that Antoni Frys purchased 35
acres of bottom
land from Frank OBrian. It was located on the west side of Ryan Road by the Clinton River, midway between Hamlin Road and
22 Mile Road. They called the park Marskie Oko Park. It was a park for Polish people.
The grounds needed to be cleaned up, dead trees and branches removed. Grass and weeds needed to be cut in preparation for
the picnic area. An area had to be cleared for parking. Outhouses, picnic tables, and benches had to be made for the
picnickers. Also, a 50 foot by 50 foot dance hail was built. Shortly, the park opened on Sundays only, since Tony was working
another job during the week. The fee was twenty-five cents per person.
In 1933, the park was re-acquired by the Frys. Bill Frys joined
his father Tony
in 1936, with brother Edward joining the venture in 1937. They built a concession stand and sold hamburgers, hot dogs, various
sandwiches and soft drinks for five cents each. A full 1/4 ham-burger was the feature of the concession stand. Admission was
25 cents per person. Fishing and swimming were still good and they built a ball diamond for the kids.
began to cater to churches, clubs local unions, and various ethnic groups. Each group would rent the park for a day. The rates
were $150 to $300 depending on the number of people who were expected.
The group that rented the park was in complete charge of their
They would operate the entrance gate and charge admission,usually 25 cents per person. They would have their own cook to make
and sell hamburgers, hot dogs, and various sandwiches, at the rate they would determine. It was the groups responsibility
to buy a 24 hour license to sell beer. The group paid for the bartenders which were furnished by the park. Beer sold for ten
cents a glass or fifteen cents a bottle. Their profit from the concessions stands helped cover the cost of the rent and they
hoped to have a profit at the end of the day for their club or church function.
The Frys worked with the sheriffs department
in securing off-duty deputies to help police their park. The cost was borne by the group that rented the park. Toward evening
many fights broke out due to the heavy drinking.
music was mostly polka bands. The bands were furnished by the renters. Frankie Yankovich was a famous polka band that frequently
played the parks in the area.
In 1937, a ski
jump was built by a club from Rochester on the
southern part of the park. It was used for a year. One evening a group
The mothers had to get the kids ready by taking along their swim suits, towels, and make the picnic lunches. The swimming
and fishing was good in the beautiful Clinton River with its sandy shores. It was a fun day for all.
1927, the park was sold to the Polish Falcons Service Club
#31. They called the park the Zielony Gaj Park which is Green
Glen in Polish. Not much is known how they operated their club, most likely the same as the previous owner.